Ajax and Feyenoord claim wins

Defending Eredivisie champions Ajax started the new campaign in emphatic style with a 4-1 defeat of Vitesse on Sunday.

Lasse Schone (48, 87) scored twice in the second half to add to Nick Viergever's 39th-minute opener, with Mike van der Hoorn also getting on the scoresheet in the 62nd minute.

Marko Vejinovic's 84th-minute score for Vitesse proved to be a late consolation.

FC Groningen came from behind to beat Go Ahead Eagles 3-2.

Alex Schalk (18) and Lesley De Sa (50) put the Eagles ahead before goals from Tjaronn Chery (58), Michael De Leeuw (75) and Jarchinio Antonia (87) saw the match swing Groningen's way.

Elsewhere, PSV Eindhoven defeated 10-man Willem II 3-1.

Jurgen Locadia set PSV on their way with a goal in the seventh minute and the visitors' lead was doubled soon after by Memphis Depay (10).

Willem hit back before the break thanks to Bruno Andrade (40), but were dealt a blow in the 74th minute when goalkeeper Kostantinos Lamprou was sent off.

Depay made sure of the win for PSV when he slotted their third goal from the penalty spot.

In the other game, Feyenoord defeated 10-man ADO Den Haag thanks to substitute Mitchell Te Vrede's 90th-minute winner, after the home side had been reduced to 10 men following the sending off of Mitchell Schet in the 40th minute.