Anderson expects quick recovery
England seamer James Anderson does not expect any lingering problems from the thumb injury he sustained on his return to county action.
Anderson, freed to play for Lancashire in the LV= County Championship Division One match against Nottinghamshire, sustained two blows to his right hand, leading to concerns he may have fractured his thumb.
He left the field after 10 impressive overs in the morning session and was sent for precautionary X-rays, but returned to bowl two further spells after being diagnosed with nothing more serious than bruising.
That is a boost not only to Lancashire - who had already lost all-rounder Tom Smith to a hamstring problem - but also to England, whose first Test against the West Indies starts on May 17.
"It's good news that there's no real damage," Anderson told Sky Sports News.
"It's just going to be sore for a few days so I'll probably have to man up a bit and get on with it."
Lancashire head coach Peter Moores also calmed any concerns over his prize asset's fitness: "Jimmy's thumb is sore but not broken. He went to have an X-ray straight away because the physio was a bit worried about it but he's okay.
"Sod's law he got another one on there later, straight on it again, but he iced it again and he's okay. I think he's going to be fine."
County champions Lancashire had one of their best days of a season that has seen them go winless in the first three matches of their title defence.
They dismissed Nottinghamshire for 169 and then progressed to 48 for one by stumps, but it was the drama surrounding Anderson and, later, his England colleagues that caught the eye.
Both Broad and Swann may find themselves drawing the attention of the ECB's disciplinary committee after their animated responses to being given out by umpire Stephen Gale.
Broad was sent on his way for a golden duck but initially declined to walk and instead moved to converse with his catcher Steven Croft and the umpire. Swann, meanwhile, made little attempt to hide the fact he did not agree with Gale's lbw verdict.
Nottinghamshire coach Mick Newell hinted that he would prefer his players not to contest decisions on the field but does not expect either of his England men to be punished for their reactions.
"I think both Graeme and Stuart started calling for DRS," he joked.
"Stuart felt the ball landed on the floor (before being taken at short-leg) and that was his point of view.
"You'd like to get back to a time when Broad says to Croft 'did you catch it?' he says 'yes' and Broad walks off. But sadly we're past those days.
"I know Stuart has spoken to the umpires to say he didn't feel his behaviour was unacceptable and they haven't come back to say it was.
"Graeme was surprised with his, he felt he had hit the ball before it hit the pad. But I haven't been told of any (disciplinary measures). Normally the umpires would come to us at the end of play if there was anything so I'd think that is the matter closed."