Auld rivals set for Hong Kong

England and Scotland will face each for the third successive tournament after they were pooled together at the Hong Kong Sevens.

England had beaten Scotland en route to the Wellington Sevens title, only for Colin Gregor's to gain revenge in Las Vegas last time out. The auld rivals also went head-to-head at the Gold Coast Sevens at the start of the season.

There will be another familiar face from Las Vegas in the shape of Portugal, while Samoa make up the pool.

Wales have been handed a tough-looking draw after they were grouped with Las Vegas champions South Africa, Argentina and Australia.

HSBC Sevens World Series leaders New Zealand have been drawn with the USA, France and Mike Friday's Kenya.

Hosts Hong Kong, the Asian Sevens Series champions, will face Spain, Fiji and Canada in Pool D.

Running alongside the main competition will be the pre-qualifier for next season's tournament.

The best four teams, along with Hong Kong, will play in London against the bottom three teams on the series rankings in the final qualification tournament. The top three teams will then gain core status for the 2013/14 series.

Hong Kong Sevens

Pool A: South Africa, Wales, Argentina, Australia.Pool B: New Zealand, USA, France, Kenya.Pool C: Samoa, Scotland, Portugal, England.Pool D: Canada, Fiji, Spain, Hong Kong

Core team pre-qualifier - Pool E: Tonga, S-America 1, Tunisia and Chinese Taipei (Taiwan)Pool F: Japan, Georgia, S-America 2, JamaicaPool G: Russia, Zimbabwe, Cook Islands and Mexico