Baghdatis forced to retire

Top seed Stan Wawrinka faced just 16 minutes of tennis before reaching the third round of the Aegon Championships at Queen’s Club with Marcos Baghdatis withdrawing injured.

Cypriot Baghdatis, who was handed a Wimbledon wild card earlier in the day, retired with Wawrinka leading 3-2 in the first set.

World No 3 Wawrinka will now face American Sam Querrey in his first real test in the tournament.

Radek Stephanek, the tournament's 15th seed, booked a date with Britain's Andy Murray after beating Australian Bernard Tomic 7-6 (7-4) 7-6 (7-5).

There was also a shock exit for sixth seed Ernests Gulbis a week after his sensational run to reach the French Open semi-finals, where he lost to Novak Djokovic.

Latvian Gulbis was unable to make a smooth transition from claycourt to grass however as he slipped to a 7-6 (7/3) 7-5 straight-sets defeat at the hands of Kenny de Schepper in London.

De Schepper, ranked 66 in the world, dug in as Gulbis missed six break point opportunities as the Frenchman snatched the first set and found the all-important break claim the second set without a tie-break.

Jarkko Nieminen dumped out 12th seed Dmitry Tursunov with a straight-sets second-round victory.

The Finnish world number 62 dispatched Russian Tursunov 7-6 (7/3) 7-6 (7/3) in Kensington as the top seeds continued to fall.

Nieminen will now face eighth seed Alexandr Dolgopolov in the third round after the Ukrainian saw off Denis Istomin, prevailing 7-6 (7/3) 7-6 (9/7).

In an all-French affair in Halle, Edouard Roger-Vasselin beat 13th seed Nicolas Mahut after a thrilling contest which ended with the 30-year-old claiming a 6-3 1-6 7-6(5) triumph.

Fellow Frenchman and fifth seed Jo-Wilfried Tsonga broke the trend of the day despite being forced to a tie-break in the first set, as he claimed a 7-6(5) 6-2 straight-sets victory over Belgium's David Goffin.

Australian Marinko Matosevic also made the third round after overcoming Lukas Lacko of Slovakia 7-6(3) 6-3, while there were also straight-set successes for Sergiy Stakhovsky and Adrian Mannarino as dismissed Vasek Pospisil and Victor Estrella Burgos respectively.