Championship glory for Taylor

Phil Taylor defeated Simon Whitlock 6-4 in a scintillating final to retain his Championship League Darts title on Thursday.

'The Power' was flawless throughout the Winners Group at Crondon Park GC in Essex, triumphing in all seven of his league matches before shutting out Dave Chisnall in the semi-finals.

Whitlock proved a tougher nut to crack in the final, even if Taylor quickly took the first two legs of the contest.

The 13-time world champion then hit an 11-dart finish to move 3-1 up, and after Whitlock took the fifth on double ten, he finished legs of 13 and 11 darts to move to the brink of glory.

However, Whitlock kept the match alive with an 11-dart leg of his own and then, after his opponent had missed double five for a 130 finish and the trophy, hit double 10 to make it 5-3.

The Australian cut the gap to just one courtesy of double eight but then blew a glorious chance to force a decider in the tenth leg, missing double 16 for a 132 checkout after hitting the bull twice.

Taylor made the most of the let-off, stepping up to seal the win on double four.

"I'm absolutely delighted to have won this title again," he said. "This is the hardest Championship League Darts title I've won but I'm so chuffed to have beaten Simon.

"I'm very proud to have come through such a tough group because all the players have produced some superb performances today. In the final Simon really pushed me and it was a huge relief to hit the double four."