Cotter names Scotland squad

Scotland coach Vern Cotter has included six uncapped players in his 43-man squad for next month's summer internationals.

Glasgow Warriors forwards Gordon Reid, Alex Allan, Kevin Bryce and midfielder Finn Russell are joined by London Irish flanker Blair Cowan and Edinburgh scrum-half Grayson Hart.

Scotland face the USA in Houston on June 7 before travelling north to take on Canada in Toronto a week later. They then fly to Argentina to face the Pumas in Cordoba on June 20 and bring the curtain down on their season against South Africa in Port Elizabeth on June 28.

Cotter has named separate squads for the North American and Southern Hemisphere legs of the tour but nine players have been included for the entire schedule.

"I'm very much looking forward to starting work with the Scotland players as we begin our 16-match countdown to the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England," said Cotter.

"Working with Scott Johnson and the national coaches, we've selected, effectively, two squads for our itinerary this summer taking into account Glasgow Warriors' pursuit of Pro12 silverware and the fact that our match against South Africa falls out-with the IRB Regulation 9 window.

"We've included a mix of the battle-hardened and promising new talent and it will be good to see how players step up to tough and different challenges at the end of a long domestic campaign."

Cotter will consider captaincy when the preparations begin for the North American leg of the tour next week.

Scotland squad for Test matches against USA and Canada:

Forwards: Alex Allan, Johnnie Beattie, Kelly Brown, Kevin Bryce, Blair Cowan, Geoff Cross, Grant Gilchrist, Richie Gray, Jim Hamilton, Scott Lawson, Kieran Low, Moray Low, Pat MacArthur, Gordon Reid, Alasdair Strokosch, Kyle Traynor.

Backs: Chris Cusiter, Alex Dunbar, Max Evans, Tom Heathcote, Stuart Hogg, Greig Laidlaw, Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Finn Russell, Duncan Taylor, Tim Visser.

Scotland squad for Test matches against Argentina and South Africa:

Forwards: Kevin Bryce, Geoff Cross, David Denton, Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford, Chris Fusaro, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray, Rob Harley, Moray Low, Pat MacArthur, Gordon Reid, Tim Swinson, Jon Welsh.

Backs: Alex Dunbar, Dougie Fife, Grayson Hart, Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne, Ruaridh Jackson, Sean Maitland, Peter Murchie, Henry Pyrgos, Tommy Seymour, Duncan Weir.