England shirt numbers revealed

Jack Wilshere has been given a huge World Cup boost by England boss Roy Hodgson after being handed the No 7 shirt for next month's finals in Brazil.

This suggests the Arsenal midfielder could be in the starting line-up when England open their World Cup challenge against Italy in Group D on June 14.

Wilshere has endured an injury-hit season but did start England's most recent international against Denmark in early March.

Also named among the first XI numbers are Frank Lampard at No 8 and Leighton Baines who has been handed the No 3 shirt.

Meanwhile, Danny Welbeck - who has experienced a difficult season at Manchester United - will wear No 11.

Raheem Sterling and Adam Lallana, one of whom were widely tipped to sneak ahead of Welbeck into the first XI, were given 19 and 20 respectively.

Luke Shaw, who edged out Ashley Cole for the second left-back spot in the squad, gets the No 23 shirt.

Full list of England squad numbers:

1 Joe Hart

2 Glen Johnson

3 Leighton Baines

4 Steven Gerrard

5 Gary Cahill

6 Phil Jagielka

7 Jack Wilshere

8 Frank Lampard

9 Daniel Sturridge

10 Wayne Rooney

11 Danny Welbeck

12 Chris Smalling

13 Ben Foster

14 Jordan Henderson

15 Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain

16 Phil Jones

17 James Milner

18 Rickie Lambert

19 Raheem Sterling

20 Adam Lallana

21 Ross Barkley

22 Fraser Forster

23 Luke Shaw