Falkirk claim Ramsdens Cup

Darren Dods' early goal handed Falkirk a 1-0 victory over Hamilton in the Ramsdens Cup final at Livingston's Almondvale Stadium.

Dods struck with just two minutes on the clock, and the defender's effort proved to be enough to help the Bairns become the first side to win the trophy four times.

Falkirk enjoyed the perfect start to the final.

Less than 120 seconds had been played when Mark Millar's inswinging corner from the left picked out Dods and the centre-back made no mistake in planting his header beyond David Hutton in the Hamilton goal.

The Accies had to wait until the 19th minute for their first shot on target, and even then Jordan Kirkpatrick's speculative strike from 30 yards produced a comfortable save from Michael McGovern.

Lee Kilday forced McGovern into another save 10 minutes after the break, but the Bairns stopper was more than equal to the defender's nodded effort before Alex Neil headed wide five minutes later.

At the other end, Millar came within a matter of inches of doubling Falkirk's advantage when his drilled shot from 25 yards hit the crossbar and rebounded to safety.

Hamilton launched forward in search of an equaliser and Daniel Redmond volleyed over from 20 yards while Andy Ryan was twice denied by McGovern, but the Accies could not find a way through.