FIFA: No punishment for Robben
FIFA has confirmed Arjen Robben will not face retrospective punishment after he reportedly admitted to diving during Holland’s last-16 victory over Mexico.
Mexico coach Miguel Herrera accused Robben of diving three times during the game and the Bayern Munich player himself conceded afterwards he had gone over too easily on at least one occasion.
Despite this, FIFA has decided not to punish the Dutchman in a similar fashion to Uruguay's Luis Suarez, who was sent home for biting.
FIFA head of media Delia Fischer said the disciplinary committee would only look retrospectively at "serious infringements" of fair play rules, while diving - which is a yellow card offence - did not qualify.
\"We must uphold the spirit of fair play,\" she said. "Simulation is not something we want to see on the field of play but the referees are trained to identify these simulations and punish them by showing yellow cards.
"The disciplinary committee will look into serious infringements.We appeal to the spirit of fair play which is the over-arching message we have."
Robben won a controversial penalty in injury-time which Klaas-Jan Huntelaar converted to send the Dutch through to the quarter-finals.
The Dutch FA (KNVB) have leapt to the defence of their star player and issued a statement insisting Robben's post-match comments to Dutch TV station NOS had been misinterpreted.
The statement said: "The media have interpreted statements from Robben in a Dutch post-match interview completely wrong.
"In a studio interview with NOS, the forward stated that the decision of the referee to give a penalty was perfectly correct in the second half.
"However, in the same interview Robben also mentioned two situations earlier in the game (first half), when he was brought down.
"The striker said that in one of these situations should have been awarded a penalty, but in the other case, he went over too easily."