Five handed ECB contracts

The ECB has awarded increment contracts to five England players for 2013-14.

Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan and Luke Wright have been named in the limited overs squads to face Australia next month and have been rewarded with deals.

All five were selected in the T20 squad, with Buttler, Bopara and Morgan also making the cut for the ODI series.

"These five players have played key roles in our limited overs sides in recent years," said ECB national selector Geoff Miller.

"Awarding them increment contracts means we expect them to be an important part of England's plans going forward.

"I would like to congratulate the players and wish them every success in an England shirt."

England's increment contracts are usually awarded to players who are not expected to feature regularly in the Test side but who tend to play in limited-overs internationals.

Players' county sides continue to pay their salary, with the ECB paying the player an incremental salary, while the county receives compensation from the board for matches missed while on duty for their country.