Gatland and Lions honoured

Warren Gatland and the British and Irish Lions won Coach of the Year and Team of the Year at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards.

Gatland galvanised the Lions to a record-breaking 41-16 win over Australia in the third and final Test in Sydney after making the brave decision to drop influential Irishman Brian O'Driscoll.

And the Lions were awarded the team accolade after an independent panel voted them top of a shortlist which also included Great Britain's successful Solheim Cup-winning golf team and the all-conquering Team Sky cycling team.

Lions captain Sam Warburton said: "It's not just the 15 guys who take the field in the first or second or third Test, we have a backroom staff of 35 or 40 people, and there are 70 or 80 of us all working towards the same goal, so it's fantastic we could achieve it."

Sebastien Vettel succeeded Usain Bolt as Overseas Sports Personality of the Year after a history-making season which saw him claim his fourth consecutive Formula One world title.

Vettel equalled Michael Schumacher's record of 13 race wins in a single season and also matched Alberto Ascari's mark of nine consecutive grand prix wins.

Skeet shooter Amber Hill was crowned Young Sports Personality of the Year after a year which saw her crowned the youngest World Cup winner in her sport's history.

Hill was just 15 years old when she made history and she went on to finish the season as the world number five, as well as equalling the senior world record in the qualifying round of the World Championships in Peru.

Hill was chosen from a shortlist of three, also including golfer Charley Hull and athlete Dina Asher-Smith. Last year's winner was swimmer Josef Craig who became Britain's youngest gold medallist at the 2012 Paralympics.

Former Liverpool captain Alan Hansen presented the Helen Rollason Award posthumously to the late Anne Williams, for her tireless campaigning for a new inquest for her son Kevin and other victims of the Hillsborough disaster.

The Unsung Hero award was presented to Joe and Maggie Forber for their work with young basketball players at the Amaechi Basketball Centre in Manchester.