GB face Croatia in Davis Cup

Great Britain must travel to Croatia for September's Davis Cup World Group play-offs.

The tie will likely pit Leon Smith's side, who upset Russia at the weekend with a stunning 3-2 comeback win, against world number 11 Marin Cilic.

However, British number one Andy Murray has vowed to make himself available for the clash, which takes place on September 13-15 - just four days after the US Open final.

It should therefore be considered a winnable tie and certainly not the worst draw GB could have received.

They avoided both Rafael Nadal's Spain and Roger Federer's Switzerland when the draw was made in London on Wednesday morning.

Croatia could try to hurt GB's chances by choosing to play the tie on a claycourt, although a slick hardcourt would aid their own players, who include Cilic and world number 54 Ivan Dodig. The venue will be decided by the end of the month.

The Croatians lost 3-2 in Italy in the first round of this year's tournament to slip into the play-offs. Cilic won both his singles matches, Dodig lost twice. The pair also teamed up for the doubles.

The winner of the tie will be promoted to the top level of the competition, the World Group, for the 2014 campaign.

GB reached the play-offs thanks to the efforts of James Ward, Dan Evans, Colin Fleming and Jonny Marray, who came from 2-0 down to beat the Russians in Coventry.

Ward and Evans both pulled off shock wins against higher-ranked opponents on Sunday to book GB's place in the draw but if Murray plays, one of them is likely to drop out of the four-man team.

Both Murray and Tim Henman were in the GB team the last time the two countries met - back in September 2007 when a World Group place was also at stake.

On that occasion, GB won 4-1, wrapping up the tie inside two days with Murray beating Cilic in five sets.

Great Britain lost to Argentina in the first round of the World Group the following year and have not returned to the top tier since.

Full World Group play-off draw: Spain v Ukraine, Netherlands v Austria, Croatia v Great Britain, Switzerland v Ecuador, Germany v Brazil, Poland v Australia, Belgium v Israel, Japan v Colombia.