Greipel opens Tour account

Andre Greipel sprinted to his first victory of this year’s Tour de France on stage six as Vincenzo Nibali survived another crash-strewn day to retain his overall race lead.

With Marcel Kittel having been distanced in a technical final 5km, fellow German Greipel took full advantage by beating Alexander Kristoff into second and Samuel Dumoulin into third to claim the sixth Tour stage win of his career.

Nibali followed in the peloton to retain his two-second lead in the general classification over Astana team-mate Jakob Fuglsang, while Peter Sagan remains third overall, 44 seconds back, after finishing fifth on the day.

The stage was once again marred with crashes after a rain shower turned the middle part of the route into an ice rink and triggered three pile-ups in about 20km, forcing Xabier Zandio, Jesus Hernandez and Egor Silin to abandon the race with serious injuries.

Greipel said: \"At the end there was not a leadout train, but with all the roundabouts its was not easy to stay together. With 250m to go I said to myself, I go full now'.

\"I'm really happy that I got the stage win. There was a lot of pressure on us and finally we have it. Whoever was doubting Lotto Belisol got a good answer today.\"

Stage six result

1 Andre Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol, 4:11:392 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha, same time3 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, st4 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st5 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, st6 Romain Feillu (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement, st7 Tom Veelers (Ned) Giant-Shimano, st8 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Europcar, st9 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Belkin, st10 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling, st

General classification

1 Vincenzo Niabli (Ita) Astana, 24:38:252 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, +2secs3 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, +444 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, +505 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing, +1:176 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto-Belisol, +1:457 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Belisol, same time8 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky, +1:549 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp, +2:0510 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar, +2:11Selected others18 Alberto Contador (Spa) +2:37