ICC admit Kallis dismissal error
The ICC has admitted the decision review system should not have given South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis out lbw against Pakistan.
Umpire Steve Davis initially appeared to raise his finger for a catch at short leg off spinner Saeed Ajmal on day two of the second Test and, while Kallis' review showed he had not hit the ball, it was going on to flick leg stump.
That meant the decision stood as an lbw call, although there was more confusion when the 37-year-old refused to walk.
Davis was prompted to have a further discussion with third umpire Billy Bowden before the decision remained - much to Kallis' displeasure - but the ICC this evening acknowledged Kallis had been incorrectly given out.
An ICC statement, issued on behalf of the playing control team (PCT) of the second Test, read: "The PCT made an honest error in this extremely rare situation. The umpires followed usual umpiring principles in giving Kallis out lbw on umpire's call the review was for the batsman out caught. This is because the normal principle is that an appeal covers all forms of dismissal.
"However, the playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out.
"Therefore, in this instance Kallis, as the point of impact was umpire's call, should not have been given out lbw."
Hello, regular commenting on Orange News and Sport pages closes on Thursday 30 May 2013. We will continue to provide a commenting facility on major news and sport events on orangeworld.co.uk. Contact us via http://oran.ge/OWfeedback if you have any further questions. Thanks.