Johnson wins Border medal

Ashes man of the series Mitchell Johnson has been named Australia's Player of the Year at a glittering ceremony in Sydney.

The left-arm quick was awarded his first Allan Border Medal on Monday after pipping skipper Michael Clarke for the top individual honour in Australian cricket.

Johnson was Australia's hero as they regained the Ashes with a 5-0 sweep, taking 37 wickets in the series and 65 at an average of just over 20 in all formats in the past 12 months.

Those performances were enough to see him leapfrog Clarke in the voted award, as the skipper chased a third successive title.

Johnson polled 168 votes - 12 more than Clarke - for a medal that is decided across all three formats on the international stage.

Johnson's win comes despite him missing Australia's 3-0 Ashes defeat in the summer and playing just six of 14 Tests during the voting period. All-rounder James Faulkner was third.

Clarke was named Test Player of the Year while George Bailey, dumped from the squad to tour South Africa next month, won the ODI player of the year award.

Opener Aaron Finch - who blasted a world record 156 against England in August - was named Twenty20 Player of the Year.