sport

Keshi questions officiating

Stephen Keshi believes the match officials did Nigeria few favours as they bowed out of the World Cup at the hands of France.

The Nigeria coach has aired his disappointment at the standard of refereeing in a contest which could have gone either way.

A late Paul Pogba goal and an unfortunate own goal from Joseph Yobo saw France to a 2-0 win, but one they had to work exceptionally hard for.

Nigeria bossed proceedings at times, leaving their more illustrious opponents frustrated and lacking in ideas.

They also had the ball in the net at one stage, as Emmanuel Emenike turned home a first-half cross, but they were to be left wondering what might have been.

Keshi feels that effort should have been allowed to stand, with the assistant referee getting an offside call wrong, while he is also of the opinion that Blaise Matuidi should have seen red for a reckless challenge which forced Ogenyi Onazi from the field on a stretcher when the game was still goalless.

He said: "I am not happy with the officiating.

"On two occasions Onazi had very bad tackles. He's out now probably for weeks.

"This is the first time in my life I speak about the referee but it wasn't good.

"If you look at the goal that we scored I don't think there was any infringement.

"I would love to know the reason why the referee disallowed the goal."