Malinga named T20 skipper

Lasith Malinga has been appointed as Sri Lanka's full time Twenty20 captain after he led the team to the world title last month.

The paceman took over from Dinesh Chandimal, who started the ICC World Twenty20 as captain before stepping down following a barren run of form.

Malinga steered Sri Lanka to victory over India in the final in Bangladesh, and he will lead the side with Lahiru Thirimanne as his vice-captain for the next 12 months.

His fellow seamer Angelo Mathews has retained the captaincy of both the Test and one-day international teams ahead of the tour of England and Ireland.

Sri Lanka fly out next week for a busy schedule which features seven one-day internationals, one Twenty20 clash and two Test matches.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Cricket have resolved the pay dispute with their 13 contracted players over participation fees from ICC and Asian Cricket Council (ACC) events.

The players had demanded 20 percent of the participation fees, but they have now agreed to accept 10 per cent and are now set to sign their contracts almost two months later than scheduled.

The agreement was reached after an SLC committe featuring treasurer Nuski Mohamed, CEO Ashley de Silva and chief selector Sanath Jayasuriya held talks with Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews on Tuesday.

An SLC statement read: "After discussions, the committee in consultation with the office bearers of the SLC's Executive Committee, offered 10 percent of the participation fee from the ICC and ACC events to the players which will be applied for the next five years and will be non-negotiable.

"The above offer was accepted by the players and they have agreed to sign the annual contracts in due course."

Sri Lanka one-day squad for tour of Ireland:

Angelo Mathews (Capt), Kusal Janith, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashan Priyanjana, Kithruwan Vithanage, Chathuranga De Silva, Sachithra Senanayake, Thissara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Ajantha Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella.

Twenty20 squad for match against England:

Lasith Malinga (Capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Janith, T.M Dilshan, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithruwan Vithanage, Ashan Priyanjana, Thissara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chathuranga De silva, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Seekuge Prasanna, Ajantha Mendis.