McCoy leads Lesters nominees

Tony McCoy is in line to add to his record number of jockey 'Oscars' at the 23rd Stobart Lesters.

With 18 Lesters to his name, the 17-times champion jump jockey could pick up two more when the awards are handed out at a glittering ceremony at the Hilton Metropole in Birmingham on March 28.

In the list of nominations announced on Friday, McCoy is on the shortlist for the At The Races Jump Ride of the Year on Synchronised in the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Stobart Jump Jockey of the Year.

In contrast, Richard Hughes could receive his first ever Lester as the champion Flat jockey has been nominated in three of the nine categories.

These are the Racing Post Flat Ride of the Year on The Fugue at Glorious Goodwood, Flat Jockey Special Recognition and Stobart Flat Jockey of the Year.

Sir Henry Cecil is also among the four nominations for the Flat Jockey Special Recognition which is open to people outside the weighing room.

The same applies to the Arena Racing Company Jump Jockey Special Recognition prize and the nominations for that include the late Campbell Gillies and Rodi Greene, who suffered a serious injury which brought his career to an end.

Prolinx once again sponsor Lady Jockey of the Year and the winner for the last two years, Cathy Gannon, is nominated again, along with Hayley Turner, Amy Ryan and Lucy Alexander.

Voting for seven of the Lesters awards is by ballot among members of the Professional Jockeys Association.

The Flat Ride of the Year is voted for by readers of the sponsoring Racing Post during February while the Jump Ride of the Year, sponsored by At The Races, will be decided by votes on the TV channel's website during February.

The winner and the runner-up in the ARC All-Weather Jockeys' Championship will also be presented with their prizes on Lesters night.