Muller closes on leader Lopez

Reigning champion Yvan Muller closed the gap to current World Touring Car Championship leader Jose Maria Lopez with an easy victory in Hungary.

The Frenchman moved to within 10 points of his Citroen team-mate at the Hungaroring after beating him by 1.2 seconds in the opener, before finishing just ahead of the Argentinian in fifth in the second race.

Portugal's Tiago Monteiro's Honda Civic completed the podium in race one as nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb dropped from third to seventh at the start.

The top eight after the first lap stayed the same throughout the entire race.

In the second race Italian Gianni Morbidelli's Chevrolet led from start to finish to record his first victory, narrowly edging out Monteiro with Frenchman Hugo Valente third, meaning for the first time this season a Citroen driver did not make the podium.