New format for TPC Sawgrass

The Players Championship is to ditch its sudden-death format for play-offs which will now be decided over three holes.

PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem made the announcement on Wednesday, with the new format coming into effect at this year's event at the famed TPC Sawgrass layout -should two or more players be tied for the lead after 72 holes.

The three-hole play-off will be contested over the par-five 16th, par-three 17th and par-four 18th holes.

And if players are still tied for the lead on aggregate, following the extra three holes, they will return to the 17th when the play-off reverts to sudden-death - followed by 18-16-17-18 and so on until a winner is determined.

Finchem said: "Holes 16, 17 and 18 on the Stadium Course are perhaps the most dramatic closing holes in professional golf from a risk-reward standpoint.

"They test all facets of a player's physical and mental game while under the pressure of trying to win such a significant championship.

"We felt an aggregate play-off that incorporated these three holes was a more appropriate way to determine the champion."

Since TPC Sawgrass first hosted the tournament in 1982 there have only been three play-offs when the champions were Sandy Lyle (1987), Sergio Garcia (2008) and KJ Choi (2011)

The Players Championship, often dubbed 'the fifth major', will be staged this year from May 8-11.