Pakistan recall Umar Akmal

Umar Akmal has been recalled to the Pakistan Test squad for next month's two-match series against Sri Lanka.

And veteran batsman Younis Khan is back in the one-day squad, after an absence of 16 months.

Akmal, 24, normally bats in the middle order and has scored just over 1,000 runs in 16 Tests but last played against Zimbabwe in 2011, although he has remained a part of the limited overs set-up.

And Khan has been repeatedly overlooked for the 50-over team since playing against South Africa in Benoni in March last year.

The 36-year-old retired from Twenty20 cricket after leading Pakistan to World Twenty20 success in 2009 but has remained keen to play at next year's 50-over World Cup.

At a Lahore training camp in May he was one of the fittest players in the group and he was later elevated to category A in the list of centrally contracted players.

Mohammad Hafeez has been left out of the Test squad, having been dropped from the team during the drawn series against Sri Lanka in the United Arab Emirates earlier this year.

He scored 80 in the drawn second Test but was dropped for the final Test in Sharjah, which Pakistan won to level the series.

The selectors have kept faith with the opening pair of Ahmed Shahzad and Khurram Manzoor while Khan, Azhar Ali, skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and Asad Shafiq are likely contenders for berths in the middle order.

Left-arm fast bowler Wahab Riaz has been recalled and will battle with Junaid Khan, Mohammad Talha and Rahat Ali for spots in the pace attack.

Opening batsman Sharjeel Khan, middle-order men Fawad Alam and Sohaib Maqsood, experienced all-rounder Shahid Afridi, fast bowler Anwar Ali and left-arm spinner Zulfiqar Babar will join the team later on as limited-overs specialists.

Pakistan's first Test in Sri Lanka will start in Galle on 6 August before the sides move on to Colombo for the second Test, which starts on 14 August.

Hambantota (23 August), Colombo (27 August) and Dambulla (30 August) will stage the three one-day internationals.

Test squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Ahmed Shahzad, Khurram Manzoor, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Talha, Junaid Khan, Rahat Ali, Wahab Riaz.

One-day squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Ahmed Shahzad, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Anwar Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Talha, Wahab Riaz, Zulfiqar Babar.