SA call up McLaren, Parnell

South Africa have called up all-rounders Ryan McLaren and Wayne Parnell for next month's three-match Test series with Australia.

The pair - both former Kent players - are probably competing for the spot left by Jacques Kallis' retirement.

Leg-spinner Imran Tahir has been dropped from the squad, leaving Robin Peterson as the only front-line spinner, though JP Duminy is available as a sixth bowler.

Kallis' retirement leaves a massive void in the team - South Africa have to replace his runs at No 4 in the order and also the fourth seamer's slot.

McLaren and Parnell can both bat, but almost certainly no higher than seven in a Test match.

Both all-rounders made their debut in the same Test against England at The Wanderers in 2010 - a match that the Proteas won by an innings and 74 runs.


Parnell went on to play in South Africa's next two Test matches in India and since then both players have been involved in several Test squads abroad without playing.

"We want to stay constant to the brand of cricket we have played over the last few years that has brought us such success," Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

"I believe that this squad covers all possible options we may wish to exercise as well as the conditions we are likely to encounter."

Cape Cobras left-arm fast bowler Beuran Hendricks and Warriors off-break bowler Simon Harmer will train with the squad. Hendricks will give the batsmen an opportunity to practise for their duel with Mitchell Johnson, while Harmer is similar to Aussie spinner Nathan Lyon.

"They are both highly talented cricketers who will benefit from being introduced to the Proteas environment. They also possess individual skills that will assist the team with their preparation for the Australian attack we are likely to face," Hudson said.

Australia will play three Tests and three Twenty20 matches in South Africa.

Squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile