Saxons start for Eastmond

Bath centre Kyle Eastmond will start for England Saxons for the first time when they take on Scotland A in Glasgow on Friday evening.

The 24-year-old former rugby league star is one of four debutants in the three-quarter line, with his club-mate Semesa Rokoduguni, Leicester wing Adam Thompstone and Gloucester scrum-half Dan Robson also named.

There are four changes to the pack that started last weekend's as Dave Ward (Harlequins), Scott Wilson (Newcastle), Elliott Stooke (Gloucester) and Sam Dickinson (Northampton) graduate from the bench.

Joe Lydon, the RFU Head of International Player Development, said: "This group of young players worked hard in both preparing for and playing against an experienced Wolfhounds side at Kingsholm.

"We didn't deliver the win on Saturday but created some good opportunities and the team are building their knowledge of what is expected and our knowledge of them as a squad is also increasing. A further week together should help us continue to improve our collective understanding.

"We have an exciting young squad of real potential with new Saxons caps for Semesa Rokoduguni, Adam Thompstone and Dan Robson all of whom continue to play consistently well for their respective clubs.


"We are under no illusion how tough it will be for us in Glasgow against Scotland A, who've done well against us at this level in recent years, but our players have a lot of talent, endeavour and a willingness to work for each other to build on their club form.

"This squad has an average age of 24 and our aim is to continue working with them in an evolving long-term programme that compliments the excellent work done at their clubs in developing players capable of achieving success at club and at senior international level at the World Cups in 2015, 2019 and beyond."

England Saxons: Miller (Sale), Rokoduguni (Bath), Daly (Wasps), Eastmond (Bath), Thompstone (Leicester), Burns (Gloucester), Robson (Gloucester); Waller (Northampton), Ward (Harlequins), Wilson (Newcastle), Stooke (Gloucester), Kruis (Saracens), Clark (Northampton, captain), Wallace (Harlequins), Dickinson (Northampton).

Replacements: George (Saracens), Catt (Bath), Brookes (Newcastle), Matthews (Harlequins), Ewers (Exeter), Simpson (Wasps), Slade (Exeter), Sharples (Gloucester).