Scotland return for Brown

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson has recalled skipper Kelly Brown to his side for Saturday's Six Nations clash against France.

Brown is given the nod ahead of Chris Fusaro while tight-head Geoff Cross will be on from the start following his fine display off the bench in the 21-20 victory over Italy last month.

Ryan Wilson has been struggling all week with a bout of tonsillitis and his place in the back row goes to giant Edinburgh No 8 David Denton who wins his 21st cap.

Johnson retains the back division which started in Rome while 58-times capped prop Euan Murray returns to the bench after missing the first three games of the Championship due to injury.

"I think Saturday is a game that will really suit Kelly. Unlike other sides in the competition, France play above the ground a bit and there will be a lot of mauling," Johnson told the SRU's official website.

"I think the pitch suits Kelly too and I've picked a side that can win the game and that's most important.

"The other back-row change is slightly enforced as Ryan Wilson has not been well at the start of this week with a tonsillitis bug and it was important we were not hampered in our training so Dents (David Denton) comes straight in.

"Geoff did really well when he came on against Italy and it's right that he should start this week."

Scotland team: Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors); Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby); Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Castres), Jim Hamilton (Montpellier), Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier), Kelly Brown (Saracens), David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby).

Replacements: Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby), Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Max Evans (Castres)