Sky get three-year licence

Team Sky have been awarded a three-year World Tour licence after the UCI confirmed the make-up of cycling's top division for next season and beyond.

Ten teams were already licenced for 2014 and eight more licences have been handed out, with Team Sky, Astana, Movistar and Orica-Greenedge secured for the next three seasons.

Lampre-Merida have been handed a two-year licence and there was confirmation that Team Europcar are moving up to World Tour level, also for the next two years.

To round out the 18 top division teams Argos-Shimano and Trek Factory Racing, formerly the Radioshack-Leopard team, have been granted registration for the 2014 season.

AG2R La Mondiale, Belkin, BMC Racing, Cannondale, FDJ, Garmin-Sharp, Omega Pharma-QuickStep, Katusha, Tinkoff-Saxo and Lotto-Belisol had already received their licences.

A further 16 teams already knew they would be in the second division of teams, including Cofidis, IAM Cycling and MTN-Qhubeka, and they have been joined by a 17th team - the Bretagne-Seche Environnement squad from France.

Commenting on Europcar's promotion, Blaise Chauviere said: "We were confident.

"The provisional program is already established, we already know where we are going, says The schedule is almost easier to organize on the World Tour. You do not have to wait for confirmation of an invitation for a particular race."