Stamps to honour Middlesex stars

A new set of stamps is set to be a big hit with cricket fans as it features 10 of the biggest stars to play for Middlesex.

The 10 stamps are being issued to mark the 150th anniversary of Middlesex County Cricket Club, formed in 1864 and playing at different grounds across London before making Lord's its home base in 1877.

The stamps feature some of the club's most successful players - Plum Warner, Gubby Allen, Denis Compton, Fred Titmus, Mike Gatting, Patsy Hendren, Walter Robins, Bill Edrich, Mike Brearley and Andrew Strauss.

Philip Parker of the Royal Mail, said: "Middlesex CCC is one of the most successful and renowned cricket clubs in our country, and across the world.

"Some of the greatest players to play the game have represented Middlesex and the stamps pay a fitting tribute to the club itself, its 150 year history and a selection of some of its most iconic heroes."