Taylor claims top darts award

Phil Taylor was named Player of the Year at the PDC Annual Awards Dinner while Michael van Gerwen claimed three titles.

The seventh PDC Annual Awards Dinner, held at London's Dorchester Hotel, saw the stars of the sport gather to celebrate the achievements of the past 12 months.

Taylor, who claimed his 16th Ladbrokes World Darts Championship title on Tuesday night, was named PDC Player of the Year.

As well as the world title, 'The Power' also claimed the McCoy's Premier League Darts, Betfair World Matchplay and Cash Converters Players Championship Finals titles during the past 12 months.

He also hit three nine-dart finishes and partnered Adrian Lewis to glory in the World Cup of Darts as he maintained his position as the world No 1.

"It's a wonderful honour to receive this award," said Taylor, who dedicated his trophy to retiring referee Bruce Spendley.

"With the brilliant performances of so many players in the last year, it means a huge amount to me to be named as the Player of the Year."

Van Gerwen rounded off a stunning year by winning the Young Player of the Year, PDPA Player of the Year and Fans' Player of the Year titles.

The 23-year-old Dutchman won the World Grand Prix, reached the World Darts Championship final, claimed seven PDC ProTour titles and hit three nine-darters as he rose to fourth in the PDC Order of Merit.

Van Gerwen garnered 54% of the votes in an online poll of PDC fans, while he also secured the PDPA Player of the Year title following a vote amongst his fellow players.

"It's been a fantastic year for me and to win three awards means a lot to me," he said.

"I've had a great World Championship and to win these awards is great but I'm looking forward to 2013.

"For the players to vote for me as their Player of the Year is amazing, and I also thank all the fans who voted for me too for the Fans' Player of the Year Award."

Meanwhile, Dean Winstanley, who capped a brilliant debut year on the PDC circuit with a run to the semi-finals of the William Hill Grand Slam of Darts and a nine-darter at the World Championship, was named Best Newcomer.