Three newcomers in India squad

India have named three uncapped players in a 17-man squad for the limited-overs leg of their tour of England.

Pace bowler Dhawal Kulkarni, wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson and leg-spinner Karn Sharma have all been included in the party for a series of five one-day internationals and one Twenty20 game from August 25 to September 7.

It is a first international call up for both Samson and Karn, although Kulkarni was part of the Test squad for the tour of New Zealand in 2009 without making an appearance and he also missed out on the ODI series against West Indies last year due to injury.

Karn was picked ahead of other contenders like Piyush Chawla and Rahul Sharma after first-choice leg-spinner Amit Mishra was ruled out by a back injury.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni captains a squad which does not include experienced players like Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag.

The selectors have opted for youth with an eye on next year's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Squad: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma.