Trinh-Duc overlooked again

Francois Trinh-Duc has been left out of Philippe Saint-Andre's France squad to tour Australia next month.

Frederic Michalak has been preferred to the Montpellier fly-half as back-up to first-choice No 10 Remi Tales in a 31-man squad.

Trinh-Duc has been regularly omitted since previous coach Marc Lievremont left his post, but Saint-Andre insists there is nothing personal in his choice of Toulon veteran Michalak.

"There is no case surrounding Trinh-Duc," he said. "He was on the tour to Argentina (in the summer of 2012), he played in the Six Nations when there were injuries.

"We make choices. Tales is our first choice, Michalak is coming back as a fly half. I make decisions and I take responsibility for them.

"Francois is in good form but we also have to talk about Jules Plisson and Camille Lopez, who will join Clermont. Everyone is working hard, just like Francois Trinh-Duc.

"Based on the balance of the squad and the team we're building, Remi Tales remains our first choice."

Michalak did not feature in this year's Six Nations but has played regularly at No 10 for Toulon this term having spent most of last season at scrum-half.

He joins the squad along with three uncapped players - Toulon prop Alexandre Menini, Castres centre Remi Lamerat and Bordeaux-Begles wing Felix Le Bourhis.

France play three Tests against Australia, the first of them in Brisbane on June 7.

France Squad:

Forwards: Thomas Domingo (Clermont), Alexandre Menini (Toulon), Guilhem Guirado (Perpignan), Benjamin Kayser (Clermont), Christopher Tolofua (Toulouse), Vincent Debaty (Clermont), Nicolas Mas (Montpellier), Rabah Slimani (Stade Francais), Alexandre Flanquart (Stade Francais), Bernard Le Roux (Racing-Metro), Yoann Maestri (Toulouse), Sebastien Vahaamahina (Perpignan), Antoine Burban (Stade Fran?s), Damien Chouly (Clermont), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse, capt.), Yannick Nyanga (Toulouse), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Louis Picamoles (Toulouse)

Backs (13): Maxime Machenaud (Racing-Metro), Morgan Parra (Clermont), Frederic Michalak (Toulon), Remi Tales (Castres), Mathieu Bastareaud (Toulon), Gael Fickou (Toulouse), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Remi Lamerat (Castres), Yoann Huget (Toulouse), Felix Le Bourhis (Bordeaux-Begles), Maxime Medard (Toulouse), Hugo Bonneval (Stade Francais), Brice Dulin (Castres).