Trio handed debuts as England bat

England handed Test debuts to Sam Robson, Moeen Ali and Chris Jordan as Sri Lanka won the toss in the first Test and opted to bowl first.

Skipper Alastair Cook had confirmed Robson and Ali on Wednesday, but not Jordan. The former Barbados player got the nod though which meant Chris Woakes was the man to miss out.

Yorkshire seamer Liam Plunkett also returned to the Test side for the first time since 2007.

Sri Lanka have reshuffled a little from the side that played in the one-day series, with Dimuth Karunaratne and Kaushal Silva opening the batting and Rangana Herath providing the spin option.

England: Alastair Cook, Sam Robson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Matt Prior, Chris Jordan, Stuart Broad, Liam Plunkett, James Anderson.

Sri Lanka: Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews (capt), Prasanna Jayawardene (wkt), Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga.