Unchanged England bowl first

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first on day one of the fourth Test against England at Old Trafford on Thursday.

England resisted the temptation to recall fast bowler Steven Finn by naming an unchanged XI, while the tourists replaced opener Shikhar Dhawan with the veteran Gautam Gambhir.

All-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin and fast bowler Varun Aaron, meanwhile, were selected ahead of batsman Rohit Sharma and seamer Mohammed Shami.

Inclement weather delayed the start by 30 minutes. The five-match series is currently locked at 1-1 after a win apiece and a draw.

England: Alastair Cook, Sam Robson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

India: Murali Vijay, Gautam Gambhir, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron, Pankaj Singh.