Wales name strong team

Geraint Thomas and Becky James will spearhead a 17-strong Wales cycling team for next month's Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Team Sky's Thomas, a two-time Olympic champion, and double world champion James are the headline names among a group that has serious medal aspirations.

Also included are team pursuit champion Elinor Barker, World Cup medallists Jon Mould, Sam Harrison and Owan Doull and Team Sky pro-cyclist Luke Rowe.

On the track, James and Lewis Oliva will contest the sprint events, with Mould, Harrison and Doull competing in men's endurance.

The women's endurance contingent will comprise Barker, Ciara Horne, Hayley Jones, Amy Hill and Amy Roberts.

Scott Davies will join Thomas, Rowe, Mould, Harrison and Doull in the men's road team.

Wales head coach Darren Tudor said: "We've got a lot of experience in there. The target is three medals, and while that target is there, with a little bit of luck and clever bike racing there is more to have, hopefully."