India v England Test Series 2012 – 3rd Test

India v England

Wed 5 Dec 2012, 03:30am GMT, 09:00am local

England win by 7 wickets

India316 (105 ovs) & 247 (84.4 ovs)
England523 (167.3 ovs) & 41-3 (12.1 ovs)


England have opened up a 2-1 series lead after speeding to a seven-wicket victory over India on day five at Eden Gardens.

India's second-innings resistance lasted just 10 further deliveries on the final day as Pragyan Ojha was bowled by James Anderson (3-38) in the second over of the morning to set England a victory target of just 41.

The target looked straightforward, however England gave India a sniff of a miraculous turnaround when crashing to 8-3 inside the opening five overs.

Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott and Kevin Pietersen all departed to spin in quick succession, however Ian Bell (28no) and Nick Compton (9no) saw England to their first Test win at the famous Kolkata venue since 1977.

Ashwin's batting heroics the previous evening had delayed England's celebrations, but Cook and his side had to wait just seven minutes before taking the final India wicket on day five.

After Ashwin had taken Steven Finn for two boundaries in the opening over, Ojha failed to see his partner through to a second Test century when Anderson breached his defences and grazed off stump - the bail belatedly falling off.

Chasing a meagre total, captain Cook was eager to see his side through to victory quickly, however he paid the price just five balls in when walking past a wide Ashwin delivery and looking back to see Mahendra Singh Dhoni whip off the bails.

Trott made just three before falling lbw to Ojha and nerves on the away balcony began to jangle when Pietersen (0) edged Ashwin through to Dhoni the following over to leave England tottering on 8-3.

Bell quickly eased any fears of a spectacular collapse, though, finding the boundary on five occasions to help put England 2-1 ahead with one Test, in Nagpur, remaining.

For India, it was a first defeat since the last millennium at Eden Gardens, and England will become the first tourists since 2004 to win a Test series here if they can at least draw the last match in Nagpur.

India v England Test Series 2012 – 3rd Test

India v England

Wed 5 Dec 2012, 03:30am GMT, 09:00am local

England win by 7 wickets

India – 1st innings

G Gambhirc IJL Trott b MS Panesar60124120
V Sehwagrun out (ST Finn)232630
CA Pujarab MS Panesar164820
SR Tendulkarc MJ Prior b JM Anderson76155130
V Kohlic GP Swann b JM Anderson62410
Y Singhc AN Cook b GP Swann325441
MS Dhonic GP Swann b ST Finn5211452
R Ashwinb JM Anderson214320
Z Khanlbw MS Panesar62110
I Sharmab MS Panesar0300
PP Ojhanot out01900
Extras5b, 13lb, 5w, 1nb24
Total(105 ovs)316all out

fow: 1-47 (V Sehwag, 10.1 ov), 2-88 (CA Pujara, 25.4 ov), 3-117 (G Gambhir, 41.1 ov), 4-136 (V Kohli, 48.4 ov), 5-215 (Y Singh, 68.3 ov), 6-230 (SR Tendulkar, 74.1 ov), 7-268 (R Ashwin, 88.3 ov), 8-292 (Z Khan, 93.6 ov), 9-296 (I Sharma, 95.3 ov), 10-316 (MS Dhoni, 104.6 ov)

JM Anderson28.078933.18
ST Finn21.027313.48
MS Panesar40.0139042.25
GP Swann16.034612.88

England – 1st innings

AN Cookrun out (V Kohli)190377232
NRD Comptonlbw PP Ojha5713761
IJL Trottc MS Dhoni b PP Ojha87223100
KP Pietersenlbw R Ashwin548591
IR Bellc MS Dhoni b I Sharma52300
SR Patelc V Sehwag b PP Ojha334750
MJ Priorc MS Dhoni b Z Khan414961
GP Swannc V Sehwag b PP Ojha214630
ST Finnnot out41310
JM Andersonc V Sehwag b R Ashwin9910
MS Panesarlbw R Ashwin0100
Extras13b, 4lb, 5nb22
Total(167.3 ovs)523all out

fow: 1-165 (NRD Compton, 52.6 ov), 2-338 (IJL Trott, 119.2 ov), 3-359 (AN Cook, 126.5 ov), 4-395 (IR Bell, 136.5 ov), 5-420 (KP Pietersen, 143.2 ov), 6-453 (SR Patel, 149.6 ov), 7-510 (GP Swann, 163.2 ov), 8-510 (MJ Prior, 164.2 ov), 9-523 (JM Anderson, 167.2 ov), 10-523 (MS Panesar, 167.3 ov)

Z Khan31.069413.03
I Sharma29.087812.69
R Ashwin52.3918333.49
PP Ojha52.01014242.73
Y Singh3.01903.00

India – 2nd innings

G Gambhirc MJ Prior b ST Finn4010441
V Sehwagb GP Swann495770
CA Pujararun out (IR Bell)82220
SR Tendulkarc IJL Trott b GP Swann5610
V Kohlic MJ Prior b ST Finn206030
Y Singhb JM Anderson111720
MS Dhonic AN Cook b JM Anderson0300
R Ashwinnot out91157150
Z Khanlbw ST Finn0400
I Sharmab MS Panesar105320
PP Ojhab JM Anderson32500
Extras8b, 2lb10
Total(84.4 ovs)247all out

fow: 1-86 (V Sehwag, 21.1 ov), 2-98 (CA Pujara, 28.6 ov), 3-103 (G Gambhir, 30.4 ov), 4-107 (SR Tendulkar, 31.5 ov), 5-122 (Y Singh, 36.4 ov), 6-122 (MS Dhoni, 38.1 ov), 7-155 (V Kohli, 52.5 ov), 8-159 (Z Khan, 54.3 ov), 9-197 (I Sharma, 72.3 ov), 10-247 (PP Ojha, 84.4 ov)

JM Anderson15.443832.43
ST Finn18.064532.50
MS Panesar22.017513.41
GP Swann28.097022.50
SR Patel1.00909.00

England – 2nd innings

AN Cookst MS Dhoni b R Ashwin1400
NRD Comptonnot out93010
IJL Trottlbw PP Ojha3600
KP Pietersenc MS Dhoni b R Ashwin0500
IR Bellnot out282840
Total(12.1 ovs)41for 3

did not bat: SR Patel, MJ Prior, GP Swann, ST Finn, JM Anderson, MS Panesar

fow: 1-4 (AN Cook, 0.5 ov), 2-7 (IJL Trott, 3.2 ov), 3-8 (KP Pietersen, 4.2 ov)

R Ashwin6.113125.03
PP Ojha6.031011.67

match details

toss: India won the toss and elected to bat.

venue: Eden Gardens, Calcutta

text the commentator

Cricket PA